Fishing is a fun activity. It helps you to relax and get close to nature. There are millions of people around the world who earn their livelihood by fishing But the fishing license is also compulsory for fishing. Because its a big issue if you caught without a fishing license.
Think that you’re an environmental officer on your regular patrolling duty. You see some people fishing, and you ask them about their fishing license. Now, you might be thinking about what the fishing license is, and I can fish anywhere I want. Well, no that’s not the case as per fishing and wildlife conservation act 1997, it’s illegal to fish without a license.
According to the fishing and wildlife conservation act, it is mandatory to have a license. However, there are a few exceptions where you don’t need a license. We’ll talk about those later in this article.
What Happens if You Get Caught without a License?
Well, the consequences of fishing without a fishing license vary from state to state. However, fine and policy are almost the same.
If you’re fishing without a fishing license, you’re violating the law of fishing and wildlife conservation. According to these if you’re found guilty, you’ll go to jail, and you’ll have to pay the fine.
Fine for fishing without a license in California under section 4175 (a) is at around $485. Each time you’re caught without a fishing license in California, you’ll have to pay the fine of $485. Similarly, fine for fishing without a license in Washington is around $1000, and you’ll serve the jail time of 90 days. Fine and punishment vary from state to state.
If you have a license and you’re not able to produce during the conviction. You can show your license in county court, and you’ll only pay a court fee of $10.
Immunity from the Fishing License
There are some exceptions where you don’t need to have a fishing license. Here are those exceptions.
- The age limit for a fishing license is 16 to 65 years. Anyone below 16 or above 65 don’t need a fishing license.
- If you’re fishing at your farmhouse or your spouse or child’s farmhouse, you don’t need a fishing license.
- Minors also have immunity from the fishing license.
- Military personals also have conditional immunity from the fishing license. If an army personal is fishing in his or her county, he or she won’t need a license. They only have to use natural and live bait for fishing; otherwise, they’ll also have to pay fine.
Do I need a Fishing License for Catch and Release?
The laws regarding catch and release vary from state to state. But, in majority states, you’ll need a license to catch and release the fish. National parks may even require additional paper work and permits. In the state of Texas, you don’t need a license to catch and release in public parks only. You’ll need to do your research before you start packing your fishing gear.
There are fishing laws that vary from region to region. You’ll need a fishing license before you go fishing. The fishing license doesn’t cost more than $10. If a patrol officer catches you without a license, you’ll have to pay a hefty fine, and you might even go to jail. It is better to follow the law to avoid the penalty and punishment.